Few Words but Lots of Love

During outreach, as we walked around the neighbourhood, I met someone new. I noticed an older woman who started to look sad as the rain showed up out of nowhere. She smiled sweetly at me as I introduced myself along with one of our interns. She put her hand out and held mine, really looking into my eyes. Her words were few as we sat in each other’s presence. When she did speak they were things like “I love you”, “thank you”, and “bless you”. She reminded me of my grandma. Though she didn’t have much to say, she was able to communicate her love. 

Though this was our first time meeting, there was something about just sitting together that seemed to mean something deeper. It made me think more about how presence can communicate love. Most days my grandma forgets who I am. It’s easy for me to have the mindset that I shouldn’t visit as much, since I am just a stranger to her. But, just like this lady in Parkdale, my grandma smiles the whole time I’m there, full of joy. Even as a stranger, she holds my hand and communicates a sincere deep love with few words spoken. I’m reminded that it’s important to show up, pause, and to be present; that sometimes outreach is simply communicating love through a smile. Being there, even in the rain.

Published by olivia

Hi there! I am a Community Worker with The Dale Ministries, and these are my stories and photos.

One thought on “Few Words but Lots of Love

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started