The Moments in Between

Every week at our Monday drop-in, our lunch is served at 1pm. Before then, we open our doors in the morning at 11am, not only to set up but to make space to be with our community. This time creates room for folks to get settled in their favourite spot, grab a coffee, and chat. Since our meal prep is currently done beforehand, all that is required is sandwich assembly and heating up the soup, which doesn’t take too long. I am discovering more and more that these Monday mornings are my favourite moment of the week. 

I have been observing how everyone makes the space their own. A few individuals take this time to sit quietly alone to enjoy their coffee in a peaceful and warm space, some catch up with their neighbours in the building, and some are meeting new people for the first time. One table routinely is filled with a group of ladies that laugh a lot when together. Recently, I have even been a part of playing some table games and it has been fun getting together to play. I find that some jump in right away while others are excited to watch. 

It brings me joy to see the moments that happen in that extra slice of time before lunch. It’s not always sunshine and roses, there can be fights and tension, but it reminds me that this drop-in is a safe enough space to bring your full self, even when feeling upset or going through a difficult time. I’m reminded that this drop-in isn’t just a place to eat, but a place to be together. Whether that be through the good times or the hard, I get to witness community supporting community. It is an honour to be a part of these moments in between.  

Published by olivia

Hi there! I am a Community Worker with The Dale Ministries, and these are my stories and photos.

2 thoughts on “The Moments in Between

  1. I like this post, Olivia. I am reminded of when I first came to the Dale researching a story for the Presbyterian Record. I attended what was likely Monday lunch at a big Presbyterian church. The first woman I met was interested that I came from Pickering, wondered how I got there (train and subway) and wondered what rent was like in Pickering. The woman who sat on the other side of me wondered if I’d had breakfast and what I’d had. When I asked her, she told me she had an apple. Later, when lunch came, she brought out containers from under the table to put her share in them. When I asked if she wasn’t hungry she replied, “No. I had breakfast this morning”

    Later I attended two Bible studies in the Roman Catholic space and very much enjoyed them but that first lunch made a big, big impression on me.

    God bless, Bonnie

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started